TELUS

TELUS Webmail help guide

Close

Close

Using task lists

Using task lists

The Tasks feature lets you create to-do lists and manage tasks through completion.

You can add tasks to the default task list, and you can create other task lists to organize your to-do lists by more specific activities, such as by work or personal projects.


Creating a task list

When you create a new task, you select a Task folder, also referred to as Task list, for which to track the task.

By default, the Tasks list gives you a list view of all your tasks in the Tasks folder.

You can create different task lists, in addition to the default Task list, and configure the lists to synchronize with the tasks from a remote iCal To Do list.

  1. Go to the Tasks page.
  2. In the Overview pane, click the Tasks gear icon and select New Task List.

New task list

  1. Enter a Name and select a Color for the new task list.
  2. To Synchronize tasks from a remote service, select the check box and enter the URL.

Synchronize tasks from a remote service

  1. Click OK. The task list is displayed in the task list.

Creating a task

Create a new task by entering the task name in your tasks list, or you can open a new task page and add detailed information about the task and include notes and attachments.

Create a new task


Viewing tasks in the reading pane

You can enable a Reading pane to view the content of a task without opening the task.

The Reading pane can display at the bottom of the Content pane, on the right of the Content pane, or you can turn it off so there is not reading pane.

  1. Go to the Tasks page.
  2. Click View on the Task toolbar to select how to display the Reading pane.

Option Description
Reading pane At The bottom

The task list view displays at the bottom of the pane.

Reading pane On the right

The task list view does not show the status of a task, and the percentage completed is shown as a progress bar.

Reading pane off

The reading pane does not display.


Changing a task

As you progress on a task, you might want to add information, change the status and percentage completed, or mark the task complete.


Update a task

  1. Go to the Tasks page and select the task that you want to edit.

Edit task

  1. Click Edit and make the changes to the task information.

Change task information

  1. Click Save.

Moving a task to another list

  1. Right-click a task and select Move.
  2. Select the destination list to where you want to move the task.
  • Enter the task list name, or use the keyboard arrows to navigate to the destination list.
  • Click New to create a new task list.
  1. Click OK.

Sorting tasks within a task list

You can sort a task list to quickly see tasks by status.

  1. Go to the Tasks page.
  2. In the Overview pane, select the task list you want to sort.
  3. In the header of the Content pane, right-click the Sorted by drop-down menu.

Sort tasks

  1. Click how you want to sort the task list.

Filtering tasks by status

You can filter tasks in your task list to quickly see tasks by status.

Filter task by status

  1. In the View drop-down menu on the Task toolbar, select which type of tasks you want to view.

Option Description
Not started

Shows tasks that are not started.

Completed

Shows tasks that are complete.

In Progress

Shows tasks that are in progress.

Waiting for someone else

Shows tasks that are waiting for someone else.

Deferred

Shows tasks that are deferred.

All

Shows all tasks, no matter the status.

To-do List

Shows tasks with the status of In Progress, Not Started or, if the task is overdue, Waiting for someone else.


Deleting a task

  1. Go to the Tasks page.
  2. In the Overview pane, select the task list that contains the tasks you want to delete.
  3. In the Content pane, select the task(s) to delete. You can select multiple tasks by selecting the check box next to the task.
  4. Click Delete in the toolbar.

Delete task

You can immediately undo this action by clicking the Undo link that appears at the top of the page.

The task is moved back to its original location.


Delete a task list

When deleting a task list, you can only delete task lists that you have created.

  1. Go to the Tasks page.
  2. In the Overview pane, select the task list you want to delete.
  3. In the drop-down menu, select Delete.

Delete task list

You can immediately undo this action by clicking the Undo link that appears at the top of the page.

The task list is moved back to its original location.


Printing a task or task list

You can print all the tasks in your list or you can select specific tasks to print.

  1. Go to the Tasks page.
  2. In the Overview pane, select the task or task list that you want to print. To select multiple tasks, use the check boxes next to the task.
  3. In the Content pane, select the task list or tasks to print.
  4. On the Task toolbar, click Print and select whether to Print selected task(s) or to Print Task Folder.
  5. In the Print dialog, click OK.

Importing a task lists

  1. You can import task lists that are saved to a .tgz file.
  2. Go to Preferences>Import/Export.
  3. In Import>File, click Browse to locate the task list tgz file to import.
  4. For the Destination, click All folders and select the task list that the tasks will be imported into or create a new task list.
  5. Click Import.

Depending on the size of the .tgz file, the import might take a few minutes.


Exporting a task list

Your task list is exported and saved in a .tgz file format.

  1. Go to Preferences>Import/Export.
  2. In Export>Type, select Accounts, Calendar or Contacts as the type of data you want to export.
  3. Select the Source and check the Advanced Settings box
  4. Remove the check box from all applications except Tasks.
  5. Click Export.
  6. Check Save to disk.
  7. Click OK.